

Christopher Guesdon, Honor Administrator, Australia, 2009





Christopher Guesdon was credited with creating the modern format of the Olympic 10 km Marathon Swim together with IMSHOF Honorees Sid Cassidy and Dennis Miller. He has been instrumental in the sport as a race organizer, behind-the-scenes administrator and race official who has written manuals, worked as support crew, lobbyist and historian throughout Oceania, Asia, Africa, the Americas and Europe.

Christopher was a FINA-accredited Open Water Swimming Referee between 1992 and 2008 and manager of the Australian Open Water Swimming Team between 1991 and 1996, and a member of the FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee between 1996 and 2000. He was a life member and representative of the Channel Swimming Association and was the referee at the 1998 Perth World Championships. Christopher organized the open water events at the 1998 Brisbane Oceania Championships; 1999 Melbourne Pan Pacific Championships; 2003 Fiji South Pacific Games; 1991 to 2008 Tasmania Open Water Swimming Championships; and 2007 Darwin Arafura Games. He lectured at the Argentina International Open Water Swimming Clinic; Fiji Technical Officials Clinic; and Mombasa, Kenya Technical Officials Clinic.

He refereed, managed swimmers or lectured in: Dubai, Hawaii, Suva (Fiji), Cairns, Melbourne, Rarotonga (Cook Islands), Rotorua (New Zealand), Tasmania, Bali (Indonesia), Rosario (Argentina), Nile river, Suez Canal, Atlantic City, Lake Michigan, Capri-Napoli (Italy), Atlanta (Georgia), San Felice & Crotone (Italy), Terracina (Italy), Evian (France), and 90 km Relay from Malta to Sicily. Christopher's assistance was also in Canada: lac Chibougamau; lac Memphremagog; lac St-Jean; Saguenay; Chicoutimi; Lake Ontario; and lac La Tuque 24-hour race.

In Australia, Christopher was the secretary of Australian Technical Open Water Swimming Committee between 1988 and 2001. He was a founder of the IMSHOF Honor Organization the Australian Long Distance Swimming Federation in1973 and a bureau member of the International Long Distance Swimming Federation. He co-authored the comprehensive and authoritative Australian Long Distance and Marathon Swimming Manual and helped draft the FINA Open Water Swimming Manual.

He was an accomplished marathon swimmer in 20 international races.

Christopher received from the International Swimming Hall of Fame: The Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award in 2010 for his contribution to the administration of open water swimming and the Poseidon Award in 2018. He was the third recipient in 2019 of The Dale Petranech Award for Services to the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

Expanded Biography (Openwaterpedia)