

Australian Long Distance Swimming Federation, Honor Organization, Australia, 2023





Organization Website

Videos: Show 1 Swim 1 Swim 2 IMSHOF 1 at 16:20 IMSHOF 2

The **Australian Long Distance Swimming Federation** (ALDSF) was founded in Hobart, Tasmania in 1973 and is the longest serving national open water swimming body in Oceania. The Foundation members and office bearers were President Christopher Guesdon, Deputy President Dick Campion, Secretary Susanne Guesdon, and Executive Member John Koorey. All four individuals and the ALDSF were later inducted into the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame and the first three into IMSHOF.

In launching this first national organisation, the ALDSF paved the way for the sport in Australia. The ALDSF brought marathon swimming to life by founding marathon swimming accreditation in the country and providing recognition for our sport.

Through the ALDSF, Australia became affiliated with the major international marathon swimming organisations the International Long Distance Swimming Federation and the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation. The ALDSF introduced the first ever Australian national championship marathon races and enabled a national team to compete on the international professional marathon swimming circuit.

The Derwent River Big Swim was the first of the events held by the ALDSF in 1973. This swim remains the national blue-ribbon event and is recognised as the principle solo unassisted swim in Australia.

In 2020, the ALDSF set up the prestigious Australian Triple Crown of Marathon Swimming.

Expanded Biography (Openwaterpedia)