top of page

Dale Petranech AWARD

The Dale Petranech Award for Services to the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame

This award was created in 2016 to honor Dale Petranech for decades of service to the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. Petranech is a dual inductee in both the IMSHOF and the International Swimming Hall of Fame as an Honor Contributor. As a marathon swimmer, Petranech previously held the record as the oldest solo swimmer across the Catalina Channel and has served for nearly 50 years in various capacities at all levels of the sport, local, regional, national and international.  Eligibility is restricted to individual IMSHOF Honorees only and the award is determined by the IMSHOF Executive Committee. Recipients to date:

2016 Dale Petranech: see Ceremony Booklet page #10 (the award located at ISHOF in Florida)
Dale award - held by Dale.jpg
2017 No award presented 

2018 Herman Willemse: see Ceremony Booklet page #23 (presented by IMSHOF Honoree Richard Broer on left)
Dale award to Herman Willemse.JPG
2019 Christopher Guesdon: see Ceremony Booklet page #16 (Presented by IMSHOF Honoree Richard "Dick" Campion on left)
Dales award to Chris Guesdon.jpg


2020 Beth Yudovin: see Ceremony Booklet page #22 (Presented by IMSHOF Honorees Dale Petranech on left and Ned Denison)
2021 Commander Gerald Forsberg, OBE, Master Mariner, FNI, Royal Navy (Retired): see Ceremony Booklet page #20
2022 Steven Muñatones: see Ceremony Booklet page #17 (presenting Honor Swimmer Yuko Matsuzaki at the first big IMSHOF event in 2011 at the U.N. in New York)
Yuko Matsuzaki.jpg
bottom of page