ISHOF Awards

The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) is the parent organization to IMSHOF covering all aquatics. 

Joe Grossman, 1970

Commander Gerald Forsberg, OBE, Master Mariner, FNI, Royal Navy (Retired), 1971

William Forrest "Buck" Dawson, 1972

Willy Van Rysel, 1973

Jerry Nason, 1974

Audrey Scott, 1975

Ray Scott, 1975

Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean, 1976

Conrad Wennerberg, 1977

Charles "Red" Silvia, 1978

Dennis Matuch, 1979

Not awarded 1980-2001

James Doty, 2002

British Long Distance Swimming Association, 2003

Roger Parsons, 2004

Val Parsons, 2004

Lynn Blouin, 2005

Dale Petranech, 2006

Silvia Beatríz Dalotto, 2007

Shelley Taylor-Smith, 2008

Michael P. Read, MBE, 2009

Christopher Guesdon, 2010

Steven Muñatones, 2011

Drury Gallagher, 2012

Ned Denison, 2013

Melissa Cunningham, 2014

Dennis Miller, 2015

David Yudovin, 2016

Richard Broer, 2017

Stéphane Lecat, 2018

Sue Guesdon, 2019

S.A. "Sid" Cassidy, 2020

Colin Hill, 2021

Award Winners at 2018 Ceremony:  from left - Melissa Cunningham, Val Parsons, Richard Brower, Stéphane Lecat, Michael P. Read, MBE, Beth Yudovin [for David], Ned Denison and Chris Guesdon)
The Poseidon Award recognizes high level achievement from personal effort or initiative in a field of endeavor that contributes to the performance of marathon swimmers or to the development and status of Marathon Swimming to the world. The winner is decided by the IMSHOF Selectors.
2013 Poseidon trophy 4.JPG

The Organising Committee of the Global Open Water Swimming Conference, 2013

Not awarded 2014 & 2015

Chloë McCardel, 2016

Steven Muñatones, 2017

Christopher Guesdon, 2018

Michael P. Read, MBE, 2019

Petar Stoychev, 2020

Sarah Thomas, 2021

Shelley Taylor-Smith, 2022

Chloë McCardel at the 2016 Ceremony
(Presented by Bruce Wigo CEO of ISHOF)
2016 16.jpg

Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the lifetime dedication and achievements in the swimming community.

Greta Andersen, 2015 (Presented by Bruce Wigo CEO of ISHOF on left and IMSHOF Honoree Ned Denison)

2015 9.jpg

Service Award is given periodically to an individual who has selflessly volunteered their time, energy and/or resources to advance the interests and work of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

Dale Petranech, 2019

Dale ishof award.jpg

Presidential Award is conferred in recognition of an extraordinary or exceptional achievement to promote the mission of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

Bob Duenkel, 2004

Lewis Pugh, OIG, 2011

Lewis Pugh

lewis 3.jpg

Gold Medallion Award is presented each year to a former competitive swimmer for his or her national or international significant achievements in the field of science, entertainment, art, business, education, or government.

Dr. James “Doc” Counsilman, 1990

Jim Moran, 1994

James Whelan, 1999


James Whelan


Buck Dawson Authors Award is presented to the author of an aquatics - related book for which the book’s content has had a profound educational or entertaining impact on the aquatic disciplines or population in general.  The dates below are the book publishing year and presented in alphabetic order.


Dr. James “Doc” Counsilman, 1968 & 1977

Lynne Cox, Honourable Mention 2004 & 2006

William Forrest "Buck" Dawson, Inspired the award

Penny Lee Dean, 1998

Dr. Jane Katz, 1981, 1985, 1993 & 1996

Annette Kellerman, Honourable Mention 1918

Diana Nyad, Honourable Mention 1978

Conrad Wennerberg, Honourable Mention 1974

cox book.jpg

Al Schoenfield Media Award


Diana Nyad, 2002 (at ISHOF event)

Nyad Media Award.jpg

G. Harold Martin Award is presented for long and exceptional leadership, insight and dedication to the water safety of children and the cause of making Every Child A Swimmer.


Dr. Jane Katz, 2016 


Paragon Awards are sponsored by Pentair Aquatic Systems and are presented for outstanding contributions to: Competitive Swimming, Water Polo, Competitive Diving, Aquatic Safety, Synchronized Swimming and Recreational Swimming.

Dr. Jane Katz, 1999 & 2009 

S.A. "Sid" Cassidy, 2014

Irving Davids and Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award recognizes contributors to the administration of open water swimming.  The winner is decided by the IMSHOF Selectors.